ObjectPlacer: terrain is missing either a Map or CSN Node

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
DPD DPD
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

ObjectPlacer: terrain is missing either a Map or CSN Node

I'm new at OSG and osgEarth.  I'm trying to add a object an image using osgEarthUtil::ObjectPlacer but the osg::CoordinateSystemNode* is invalid.

I can get the function to work correctly if I pass a MapNode::mapNode* to the ObjectPlacer constructor, but I always get a "...missing ether Map or CSN node" when I pass an
osg::CoordinateSystemNode*.

How do I pass a valid osg::CoordinateSystemNode* to ObjectPlacer?

Code snip:

osg::TessellationHints* hints = new osg::TessellationHints;
    hints->setDetailRatio(1.0f);

osg::Geode* geode = new osg::Geode;
    geode->addDrawable(new osg::ShapeDrawable(new osg::Box(osg::Vec3(0.0f,0.0f,0.0f),2)));
    std::string filename = osgDB::findDataFile("C:\\vpb\\Clouds\\Gfwb.jpg");
    geode->getOrCreateStateSet()->setTextureAttributeAndModes(0, new osg::Texture2D
        (osgDB::readImageFile(filename)));

osg::CoordinateSystemNode* csn = new osg::CoordinateSystemNode;
    csn->setEllipsoidModel(new osg::EllipsoidModel());
    csn->addChild(geode);

osg::Group* group = new osg::Group;
   group->addChild(csn);
   osgEarthUtil::ObjectPlacer* op = new osgEarthUtil::ObjectPlacer(csn,0,false,20);
   group->addChild(op->placeNode(mapNode,21.00,86.00,6500000));

jasonbeverage jasonbeverage
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: ObjectPlacer: terrain is missing either a Map or CSN Node

Hi,

The ObjectPlacer works on a MapNode as well as a CoordinateSystemNode, so it won't work with just a CSN.  Why do you need to just pass in a CSN and not the MapNode?

Jason

On Tue, Sep 22, 2009 at 4:05 PM, DPD (via Nabble) <[hidden email]> wrote:
I'm new at OSG and osgEarth.  I'm trying to add a object an image using osgEarthUtil::ObjectPlacer but the osg::CoordinateSystemNode* is invalid.